BASES Advisory Group 

board_meeting3

BASES operates a number of committees which help to manage the operations of the Association. Committees are made up of BASES members. Appointments to positions on the committees take place every year, with decisions announced at the BASES Annual Conference in November.

If you are interested in joining a BASES committee, more information about the roles and responsibilities of each committee can be found in the Terms of Reference document.

bases_cpd_5pts_logo


Members of a BASES Committee or Task Group receive 5 CPD credits per year.

Public and External Affairs Advisory Panel 

Name Position Email
Prof David
Broom FBASES
Member ad5173@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Rita de
Oliveira
Member r.oliveira@lsbu.ac.uk
Prof John
Dickinson FBASES
Member J.W.Dickinson@kent.ac.uk
Dr Mark Faghy Member M.Faghy@derby.ac.uk
Prof Charlie Foster OBE Member charlie.foster@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Matthew
Green FBASES
Member m.t.green@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Neil
Maxwell FBASES
Member N.Maxwell@brighton.ac.uk
Dr Mark Ross Member M.Ross@hw.ac.uk
Dr Andy Smith
MBE FBASES
Member AndySmithPersonal@hotmail.com
Dr Lauren
Struszczak
Member lr_struszczak@hotmail.co.uk
BASES
Operational Team
Administrative
Support
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Equity,
Diversity & Inclusion Advisory Group

Name Position Email
Dr Kotryna Fraser Member and Chair kotryna.fraser@sydney.edu.au
Dr Romanda Dillon Member romandadillon@gmail.com
Dr Laura JohnsonMember

Laura.Johnson@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr John Fernandes Member jfmtfernandes@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Richard Buscombe Member R.M.Buscombe@uel.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Dixon Member S.J.Dixon@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Tori Sprung Member v.s.sprung@ljmu.ac.uk
Emily Hansell PG Student
Representative
E.J.Hansell@lboro.ac.uk
Nia EvansUG Student Representativest20174075@outlook.cardiffmet.ac.uk
Dr Sanjoy DebMemberS.Deb@westminster.ac.uk
Thirsha de Silva Member thirsha.desilva@gmail.com
Ian Wilson Executive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Prof Kiara Lewis FBASES Board Diversity
Champion
kiara.lewis@bcu.ac.uk
Integrity
Advisory Group

Name Position Email
Dr Emma
Kavanagh FBASES
Member and Chair ekavanagh@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Neil
Chester
Member N.Chester@ljmu.ac.uk
James Platt Member jplatt@bournemouth.ac.uk
Jack Sharkey Member jacksharkey@live.co.uk
Dr Andy Miles FBASES  Member  admin@sporteds.net
Dr Emily Ryall Member eryall@glos.ac.uk
Prof Sue Backhouse FBASES Member S.Backhouse@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Rhind Member D.J.A.Rhind@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Phil ClarkeMemberP.Clarke@derby.ac.uk
Dr James NewmanMemberJ.Newman@shu.ac.uk
Ian Wilson Executive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Accreditation
Advisory Group

Name Position
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASES Physiology Representative (Performance) Sarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Chris Barnes FBASES Physiology
Representative (Performance)
chrisbarnes60@gmail.com
Prof John Saxton FBASES Physiology
Representative (Physical Activity & Clinical)
john.saxton@hull.ac.uk
Dr Paul Jones FBASES Biomechanics Representative
(Physiology)
P.A.Jones@salford.ac.uk
Dr Mary Margaret Meade Psychology
Representative
mm.meade@ulster.ac.uk
TBC Psychology
Representative
Dr Ian Sadler Pedagogy
Representative
I.Sadler@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Gary
Brickley FBASES
High
Performance Sport Represenative
G.Brickley@brighton.ac.uk
Dr Tom Clifford Chair and Nutrition
Representative
T.Clifford@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Wright S&C
Representative
m.wright@tees.ac.uk
Lisa Phillips BASES Professional Development
Manager (ex-officio)
lphillips@bases.org.uk
Jane Gillott Professional
Standards Administrator (Admin Support)
jgillott@bases.org.uk
Sport
& Exercise Psychology Accreditation Committee (SEPARC)

Name Position
Dr Robert Morris Chair robert.morris@stir.ac.uk
Assoc Prof Dr Mustafa Sarkar Div
of Psychology CPD Representative (ex-officio)
mustafa.sarkar@ntu.ac.uk
Lisa Phillips BASES
Professional Development  Manager (ex-officio)
lphillips@bases.org.uk
Jane Gillott BASES
Professional Standards Administrator (ex-officio)
jgillott@bases.org.uk
Dr Mark Uphill External
Examiner (ex-officio)
mark.uphill@canterbury.ac.uk
Rebecca Levett External
Examiner (ex-officio)
rebecca@sporting-success.com
Prof Chris Harwood FBASES Reviewer
Representative
c.g.harwood@lboro.ac.uk
Chris Marshall Reviewer
Representative
chris@marshallperformance.net
Edgar Chekera Candidate Representative sp_edgarchekera@outlook.com
Zach Hickmore Candidate Representative zhickmore@gmail.com
Simon Crampton Alumni Representative simoncrampton@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Claire Rossato Alumni Representative c_rossato@hotmail.com
Dr Nichola Kentzer Supervisor and Reviewer Training Representative n.j.kentzer@open.ac.uk
Dr Hayley McEwan Supervisor and Reviewer Training Representative hayley.mcewan@uws.ac.uk
Dr Misia Gervis Supervisor
Representative
gervismisia@gmail.com
Dr Paula Watson Supervisor
Representative
p.m.watson@ljmu.ac.uk
End-User
Representative
Kate Hays End-User
Representative
kate.hays@eis2win.co.uk
Sport
and Exercise Psychology Accreditation Route (SEPAR) Criminal Convictions and

Applications Review Panel (CCARP) 

Name Position Email
Dr Emma Kavanagh FBASES Integrity
Advisory Group Chair and Chair of the Panel
ekavanagh@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Robert Morris SEPAR Advisory Group
Chair

robert.morris@stir.ac.uk
Ian WilsonExecutive Directoriwilson@bases.org.uk
Vinny LeachIndependent
Non-Executive Director
vinnyleach@gmail.com
HE
Endorsement Scheme Advisory Group



NamePositionEmail
Dr Lisa Board FBASESChair
and Reviewer
lisa.board@sunderland.ac.uk
Dr Ian SadlerReviewerI.Sadler@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Helen MatthewsReviewer                                h.matthews@salford.ac.uk
Dr Adam Gledhill FBASESReviewerAdam.Gledhill@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Kelly MarrinReviewerMarrink@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Matthew TimmisReviewermatthew.timmis@aru.ac.uk
Dr Denise Hill FBASESCo-opted
member
denise.hill@swansea.ac.uk
Jane BairstowBASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Laboratory Endorsement Advisory Group (Group
yet to appoint a Chair)
NamePositionEmail
Prof Glyn Howatson FBASESReviewerglynhowatson@hotmail.com
Dr Charles Pedlar FBASESReviewerpedlarc@smuc.ac.uk
Prof Andy Jones FBASESReviewera.m.jones@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Jamie PringleReviewerJPringle@uka.org.uk
Dr Rhys Thatcher FBASESReviewerryt@aber.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASESReviewersarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Dr David
Green
Chair and Reviewerdjg240@googlemail.com
Jane BairstowBASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Student
Advisory Group 
NamePositionEmail
Francesca CollingsBMB PG Rep francollings97@gmail.com
Julia SuchaneckaBMB UG RepJuliaSuchanecka@outlook.com
Sofie PowerPA4H PG Rep

powers3@uni.coventry.ac.uk

Mastveer GhatahoraPA4H UG Repmastveer@outlook.com
Victoria TidmasP&N PG Repvictoriajane.1993@gmail.com
Annabelle DavisP&N UG Repannabelletennis@gmail.com
Manisha AggarwalPsyc PG Rep and Chairabraham.ishq@gmail.com
Molly BanksPsyc UG Rep

Josh Till

S&P
PG Rep
J.E.Till@wlv.ac.uk
Patrick MannixS&P
PG Rep
patrick.mannix@gmail.com
S&P UG Rep
Emma ForsythBASES MarComms
Manager (ex-officio)
eforsyth@bases.org.uk
Heads of Department Advisory Group
NamePositionEmail
Dr Lars McNaughton FBASESMember and ChairMcnaughtl@edgehill.ac.uk

Steve Hunter

Membersteve.hunter@lsbu.ac.uk
Jocelyn TantawyMemberJ.Tantawy@tees.ac.uk
Dr Martyn MorrisMemberMartyn.Morris@beds.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca MurphyMemberR.C.Murphy@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Jessica HillMemberjessica.hill@stmarys.ac.uk
Angus
Boyle
BASES Administratoraboyle@bases.org.uk
The Sport and Exercise Science Editorial Group
NamePositionEmail
Dr Adam Gledhill FBASESEditoreditor@bases.org.uk
Gavin ThomasBook
and Resource Review Editor
g.thomas@worc.ac.uk
Dr Paul GorczynskiPsychologyPaul.Gorczynski@port.ac.uk
Dr Claire RossatoPsychologyc.rossato@greenwich.ac.uk
Dr Neil Clarke FBASESPhysiologyneil.clarke@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Craig SaleNutritioncraig.sale@ntu.ac.uk
Dr Lynne Boddy FBASESPhysical
Activity for Health
L.M.Boddy@ljmu.ac.uk
Prof Kiara
Lewis FBASES
Physical
Activity for Health / Psychology
kiara.lewis@bcu.ac.uk
Dr Robert McCunnSport
and Performance Columnist
bob.mccunn@me.com
Dr Shaun
Mclaren
Sport and
Performance
s.mclaren@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Mayur RanchordasNutritionm.ranchordas@shu.ac.uk
Dr Theodoros
M. Bampouras
Biomechanicst.bampouras@lancaster.ac.uk
BASES
Conference Planning Group

NamePosition
Dr Ian TaylorMember and ChairI.M.Taylor@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Mike Duncan FBASESMemberaa8396@coventry.ac.uk
Assoc Prof Lance Doggart FBASESMemberlance.doggart@bcu.ac.uk
Dr Daniel BaileyMemberdaniel.bailey@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Lindsay Bottoms FBASESMemberl.bottoms@herts.ac.uk
Dr Tracy DonachieMemberTracy.Donachie@newcastle.ac.uk
Dr Kotryna FraserCo-opted Memberkotryna.fraser@sydney.edu.au
Dr Richard BuscombeCo-opted MemberR.M.Buscombe@uel.ac.uk
Dr Adam Grainger FBASESMemberadygrainger@icloud.com
Ian WilsonExecutive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
CPD
Advisory Group(Group to

appoint a Chair)

NamePosition
Dr Ross CloakMember
- Sport and Performance, and Chair
r.cloak@wlv.ac.uk
Dr Anna MyersMember
- Physical Activity for Health
a.myers@shu.ac.uk
Dr Laura WilsonMember
- Physiology and Nutrition
laurawilson1@live.com
Rachel MasonMember
- Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour
rachel2.mason@northumbria.ac.uk
Dr Amy WhiteheadMember
- Psychology
A.E.Whitehead@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Andy Miles
FBASES
Co-optedadmin@sporteds.net
Lisa PhillipsProfessional
Development Manager (ex-officio)
lphillips@bases.org.uk
Angus BoyleBASES Administrator
(Admin
aboyle@bases.org.uk
Expert
Statement Advisory Group (Group to appoint a Chair)

NamePosition
Prof Lindsay
Bottoms FBASES
Chair - Member - PA for Healthl.bottoms@herts.ac.uk
Dr Matthew JewissMember - Psychologymatthew.jewiss@aru.ac.uk
Dr Daniel LowMember - Biomechanics & Motor BeahaviourDaniel.Low@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Valerie
Gladwell
Member - Physiology & Nutrition

v.gladwell@uos.ac.uk

Prof Craig
Twist FBASES
Member - Sport & Performancec.twist@livjm.ac.uk
Awards
Advisory Group

NamePosition
Dr Lee TaylorMember and Chairl.taylor2@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASESMemberLars.McNaughton@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Andy GalbraithMemberA.J.Galbraith@uel.ac.uk
Prof Alan Barker FBASESMembera.r.barker@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Andy Lane FBASESMember                                              andylane@winninglane.com
Dr
Anastasiya Khomutova
Membera.khomutova@brighton.ac.uk
Jane Bairstow    BASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Dr Sarah CoakleyMembersarah.coakley@stmarys.ac.uk
BASES Climate Change Action Team
NamePositionEmail
Dr Ash WillmottMember and Chairash.willmott@aru.ac.uk
Romain Denis
Memberr.denis@herts.ac.uk
Louise EllisMemberL.Ellis@hud.ac.uk
Dr Andrew GarrettMemberA.Garrett@hull.ac.uk
Dr Lee GravesMemberL.E.Graves@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Stephen MearsMemberS.A.Mears@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Mia BurleighMember
Dr Julia Zakrzewski-FruerMemberJulia.Fruer@beds.ac.u
Dr Bryna ChrismasMember
Dr Carl JamesMember
Dr Jessica MeeMember

BASES Outreach Project Team
NamePositionEmail
Prof John Dickinson FBASESMember and Chair

J.W.Dickinson@kent.ac.uk

Mastveer GhatahoraMembermastveer@outlook.com
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASESMembersarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Dr James JohnstoneMemberJames.Johnstone@aru.ac.uk
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASESMemberZ.R.Knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
George MitchellMembergeorgemitchellbases@gmail.com
Dr Sarah PowellMembers.m.powell@lancaster.ac.uk
Dr Andy SparksMemberSparksa@edgehill.ac.uk
BASES Operational TeamAdministrative Supportiwilson@bases.org.uk

Clinical Exercise Physiology UK Advisory Group

NamePositionEmail
Professor Helen JonesChairH.Jones1@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Gemma Miller Deputy ChairG.D.Miller@ljmu.ac.uk
Prof David Broom FBASESAdvocacy Leadad5173@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Keith George FBASESAdvocacy Groupk.george@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Keith Tolfrey FBASESAdvocacy GroupK.Tolfrey@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Anna CampbellStandards and Accreditation leadanna.campbell@canrehab.co.uk
Dr Andrew Scott FBASESCPD Leadandrew.scott@port.ac.uk
Prof Dawn SkeltonCPD Groupdawn.skelton@gcu.ac.uk
Dr Gordon McGregorRegistered RCP CEP Rep 1gordon.mcgregor@uhcw.nhs.uk
Prof John Buckley FBASESRegistered RCP CEP Rep 2j.p.buckley@keele.ac.uk
Anthony CrozierRegistered RCP CEP Rep 3a.j.crozier@2020.ljmu.ac.uk
TBCEnd-user Rep 1TBC
TBCEnd-user Rep 2TBC
Dr Chris AskewCEP (or equivalent) International Rep 1CAskew@usc.edu.au
Prof Daniel GreenCEP (or equivalent) International Rep 2danny.green@uwa.edu.au
TBCAllied health professional representative (Physiotherapy)TBC
Prof Sandy JackClinical Physiologist/healthcare ScientistS.Jack@soton.ac.uk
Lizanne SteenkampMember of the RCCP Executive TeamLizanneSteenkamp@rccp.co.uk