BASES Advisory Group 

board_meeting3

BASES operates a number of committees which help to manage the operations of the Association. Committees are made up of BASES members. Appointments to positions on the committees take place every year, with decisions announced at the BASES Annual Conference in November.

If you are interested in joining a BASES committee, more information about the roles and responsibilities of each committee can be found in the Terms of Reference document.

bases_cpd_5pts_logo


Members of a BASES Committee or Task Group receive 5 CPD credits per year.

Public and External Affairs Advisory Panel 

Name Position Email
Prof David
Broom FBASES
Member ad5173@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Rita de
Oliveira
Member r.oliveira@lsbu.ac.uk
Prof John
Dickinson FBASES
Member J.W.Dickinson@kent.ac.uk
Dr Mark Faghy Member M.Faghy@derby.ac.uk
Prof Charlie Foster OBE Member charlie.foster@bristol.ac.uk
Dr Matthew
Green
Member m.t.green@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Neil
Maxwell FBASES
Member N.Maxwell@brighton.ac.uk
Dr Mark Ross Member M.Ross@napier.ac.uk
Dr Andy Smith
MBE FBASES
Member AndySmithPersonal@hotmail.com
Dr Lauren
Struszczak
Member lr_struszczak@hotmail.co.uk
BASES
Operational Team
Administrative
Support
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Advisory Group
Name Position Email
Dr Kotryna Fraser Member and Chair kotryna.fraser@sydney.edu.au
Dr Izzy Moore Member imoore@cardiffmet.ac.uk
Dr John Fernandes Member jfmtfernandes@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Richard Buscombe Member R.M.Buscombe@uel.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Dixon Member S.J.Dixon@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Tori Sprung Member v.s.sprung@ljmu.ac.uk
Savannah Sturridge Student
Representative
sas92@kent.ac.uk
Lucinda Abell Member LUCINDA.ABELL@stu.mmu.ac.uk
Thirsha de Silva Member thirsha.desilva@gmail.com
Ian Wilson Executive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Vinny Leach Board Diversity
Champion
vinnyleach@gmail.com
Integrity Advisory Group
Name Position Email
Dr Emma
Kavanagh
Member and Chair ekavanagh@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Neil
Chester
Member N.Chester@ljmu.ac.uk
James Platt Member jplatt@bournemouth.ac.uk
Jack Sharkey Member jacksharkey@live.co.uk
Dr Andy Miles FBASES  Member  admin@sporteds.net
Dr Emily Ryall Member eryall@glos.ac.uk
Prof Sue Backhouse FBASES Member S.Backhouse@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Rhind Member D.J.A.Rhind@lboro.ac.uk
Ian Wilson Executive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
Accreditation Advisory Group
Name Position
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASES Chair
& Physiology Representative (Performance)
Sarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Chris Barnes FBASES Physiology
Representative (Performance)
chrisbarnes60@gmail.com
Prof John Saxton FBASES Physiology
Representative (Physical Activity & Clinical)
john.saxton@hull.ac.uk
Dr Paul Jones FBASES Biomechanics Representative
(Physiology)
P.A.Jones@salford.ac.uk
Dr Mary Margaret Meade Psychology
Representative
mm.meade@ulster.ac.uk
TBC Psychology
Representative
Dr Ian Sadler Pedagogy
Representative
I.Sadler@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Gary
Brickley FBASES
High
Performance Sport Represenative
G.Brickley@brighton.ac.uk
Dr Tom Clifford Nutrition
Representative
T.Clifford@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Wright S&C
Representative
m.wright@tees.ac.uk
Sue
Watson
BASES Professional Development
& Partnerships Manager (ex-officio)
swatson@bases.org.uk
Jane Gillott Professional
Standards Administrator (Admin Support)
jgillott@bases.org.uk
Sport & Exercise Psychology Accreditation Committee (SEPARC)
Name Position
Dr Robert Morris Chair robert.morris@stir.ac.uk
Assoc Prof Dr Mustafa Sarkar Div
of Psychology CPD Representative (ex-officio)
mustafa.sarkar@ntu.ac.uk
Sue Watson BASES
Professional Development and Partnerships Manager (ex-officio)
swatson@bases.org.uk
Jane Gillott BASES
Professional Standards Administrator (ex-officio)
jgillott@bases.org.uk
Dr Mark Uphill External
Examiner (ex-officio)
mark.uphill@canterbury.ac.uk
Rebecca Levett External
Examiner (ex-officio)
rebecca@sporting-success.com
Prof Chris Harwood FBASES Reviewer
Representative
c.g.harwood@lboro.ac.uk
Chris Marshall Reviewer
Representative
chris@marshallperformance.net
Edgar Chekera Candidate Representative sp_edgarchekera@outlook.com
Zach Hickmore Candidate Representative zhickmore@gmail.com
Simon Crampton Alumni Representative simoncrampton@hotmail.co.uk
Dr Claire Rossato Alumni Representative c_rossato@hotmail.com
Dr Nichola Kentzer Supervisor and Reviewer Training Representative n.j.kentzer@open.ac.uk
Dr Hayley McEwan Supervisor and Reviewer Training Representative hayley.mcewan@uws.ac.uk
Dr Misia Gervis Supervisor
Representative
gervismisia@gmail.com
Dr Paula Watson Supervisor
Representative
p.m.watson@ljmu.ac.uk
Karl Steptoe End-User
Representative
amtpkarl@gmail.com
Kate Hays End-User
Representative
kate.hays@eis2win.co.uk
Sport and Exercise Psychology Accreditation Route (SEPAR) Criminal Convictions and
Applications Review Panel (CCARP) 

Name Position Email
Dr Emma Kavanagh Integrity
Advisory Group Chair and Chair of the Panel
ekavanagh@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Robert Morris SEPAR Advisory Group
Chair

robert.morris@stir.ac.uk
Ian WilsonExecutive Directoriwilson@bases.org.uk
Vinny LeachIndependent
Non-Executive Director
vinnyleach@gmail.com
HE Endorsement Scheme Advisory Group

NamePositionEmail
Dr Lisa Board FBASESChair
and Reviewer
lisa.board@sunderland.ac.uk
Dr Ian SadlerReviewerI.Sadler@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Helen MatthewsReviewer                                h.matthews@salford.ac.uk
Dr Adam Gledhill FBASESReviewerAdam.Gledhill@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Kelly MarrinReviewerMarrink@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Matthew TimmisReviewermatthew.timmis@aru.ac.uk
Dr Denise Hill FBASESCo-opted
member
denise.hill@swansea.ac.uk
Jane BairstowBASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Laboratory Endorsement Advisory Group (Group yet to appoint a Chair)
NamePositionEmail
Prof Glyn Howatson FBASESReviewerglynhowatson@hotmail.com
Dr Charles Pedlar FBASESReviewerpedlarc@smuc.ac.uk
Prof Andy Jones FBASESReviewera.m.jones@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Jamie PringleReviewerJPringle@uka.org.uk
Dr Rhys Thatcher FBASESReviewerryt@aber.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASESReviewersarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Dr David
Green
Reviewerdjg240@googlemail.com
Jane BairstowBASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Student Advisory Group 
NamePositionEmail
Francesca CollingsBMB PG Rep and Chairfrancollings97@gmail.com
Syeda Shayma AhmedBMB UG Repahmes195@lsbu.ac.uk
Jordan BellPA4H PG Repbh48mz@research.sunderland.ac.uk
Mastveer GhatahoraPA4H UG Repmastveer@outlook.com
Greg TownsonP&N PG Reptownsontraining@gmail.com
Annabelle DavisP&N UG Repannabelletennis@gmail.com
Callum O'MalleyPsyc PG Repcao36@kent.ac.uk
TBCPsyc UG Rep
Hayley NoblettS&P
PG Rep
h.noblett@hud.ac.uk
TBCS&P UG Rep
Emma ForsythBASES MarComms
Manager (ex-officio)
eforsyth@bases.org.uk
Heads of Department Advisory Group
NamePositionEmail
Dr Lars McNaughton FBASESMember and ChairMcnaughtl@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Kiara Lewis FBASESMemberklewis6@glos.ac.uk
Jocelyn TantawyMemberJ.Tantawy@tees.ac.uk
Dr Martyn MorrisMemberMartyn.Morris@beds.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca MurphyMemberR.C.Murphy@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Jessica HillMemberjessica.hill@stmarys.ac.uk
Angus
Boyle
BASES Administratoraboyle@bases.org.uk
The Sport and Exercise Science Editorial Group
NamePositionEmail
Dr Adam Gledhill FBASESEditoreditor@bases.org.uk
Gavin ThomasBook
and Resource Review Editor
g.thomas@worc.ac.uk
Dr Paul GorczynskiPsychologyPaul.Gorczynski@port.ac.uk
Dr Claire RossatoPsychologyc.rossato@greenwich.ac.uk
Dr Neil Clarke FBASESPhysiologyneil.clarke@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Craig SaleNutritioncraig.sale@ntu.ac.uk
Dr Lynne BoddyPhysical
Activity for Health
L.M.Boddy@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Kiara
Lewis FBASES
Physical
Activity for Health / Psychology
kiara.lewis@hud.ac.uk;
Dr Robert McCunnSport
and Performance Columnist
bob.mccunn@me.com
Dr Shaun
Mclaren
Sport and
Performance
s.mclaren@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Mayur RanchordasNutritionm.ranchordas@shu.ac.uk
Dr Theodoros
M. Bampouras
Biomechanicst.bampouras@lancaster.ac.uk
BASES Conference Planning Group
NamePosition
Dr Ian TaylorMember and ChairI.M.Taylor@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Mike DuncanMemberaa8396@coventry.ac.uk
Assoc Prof Lance Doggart FBASESMemberlance.doggart@bcu.ac.uk
Dr Daniel BaileyMemberdaniel.bailey@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Lindsay Bottoms FBASESMemberl.bottoms@herts.ac.uk
Dr Tracy DonachieMemberTracy.Donachie@newcastle.ac.uk
Dr Kotryna FraserCo-opted Memberkotryna.fraser@sydney.edu.au
Dr Richard BuscombeCo-opted MemberR.M.Buscombe@uel.ac.uk
Dr Adam Grainger FBASESMemberadygrainger@icloud.com
Ian WilsonExecutive Director
(ex-offcio)
iwilson@bases.org.uk
CPD Advisory Group(Group to
appoint a Chair)

NamePosition
Dr Ross CloakMember
- Sport and Performance, and Chair
r.cloak@wlv.ac.uk
Dr Anna MyersMember
- Physical Activity for Health
a.myers@shu.ac.uk
Dr Alan Ruddock FBASESMember
- Physiology and Nutrition
a.ruddock@shu.ac.uk
Rachel MasonMember
- Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour
rachel2.mason@northumbria.ac.uk
Assoc Prof Dr
Mustafa Sarkar
Member
- Psychology
mustafa.sarkar@ntu.ac.uk
Dr Andy Miles
FBASES
Co-optedadmin@sporteds.net
Sue WatsonProfessional
Development and Partnerships Manager (ex-officio)
swatson@bases.org.uk
Angus BoyleBASES Administrator
(Admin
aboyle@bases.org.uk
Expert Statement Advisory Group (Group to appoint a Chair)
NamePosition
Prof Lindsay
Bottoms FBASES
Memberl.bottoms@herts.ac.uk
Dr Tracey
Devonport FBASES
MemberT.Devonport@wlv.ac.uk
Prof Bill
Baltzopoulos FBASES
MemberV.Baltzopoulos@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Valerie
Gladwell
Member

v.gladwell@uos.ac.uk

Prof Craig
Twist FBASES
Memberc.twist@chester.ac.uk
Awards Advisory Group
NamePosition
Dr Lee TaylorMember and Chairl.taylor2@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASESMemberLars.McNaughton@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Andy GalbraithMemberA.J.Galbraith@uel.ac.uk
Prof Alan BarkerMembera.r.barker@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Andy Lane FBASESMember                                              andylane@winninglane.com
Dr
Anastasiya Khomutova
Membera.khomutova@brighton.ac.uk
Jane Bairstow    BASES Senior
Admin Officer (Admin)
officemanager@bases.org.uk
Dr Oliver RunswickMemberoliver.runswick@kcl.ac.uk
Dr Sarah CoakleyMembersarah.coakley@stmarys.ac.uk
BASES Climate Change Action Team
NamePositionEmail
Dr Andy Smith MBE FBASESMember and ChairAndySmithPersonal@hotmail.com
Annabelle DavisMemberannabelletennis@gmail.com
Romain Denis
Memberr.denis@herts.ac.uk
Louise EllisMemberL.Ellis@hud.ac.uk
Dr Andrew GarrettMemberA.Garrett@hull.ac.uk
Dr Lee GravesMemberL.E.Graves@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Stephen MearsMemberS.A.Mears@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Ash WillmottMemberash.willmott@aru.ac.uk
Dr Julia Zakrzewski-FruerMemberJulia.Fruer@beds.ac.u

BASES Outreach Project Team
NamePositionEmail
Prof John Dickinson FBASESMember and Chair

J.W.Dickinson@kent.ac.uk

Mastveer GhatahoraMembermastveer@outlook.com
Dr Sarah Gilchrist FBASESMembersarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Dr James JohnstoneMemberJames.Johnstone@aru.ac.uk
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASESMemberZ.R.Knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
George MitchellMembergeorgemitchellbases@gmail.com
Dr Sarah PowellMembers.m.powell@lancaster.ac.uk
Dr Andy SparksMemberSparksa@edgehill.ac.uk
BASES Operational TeamAdministrative Supportiwilson@bases.org.uk

Clinical Exercise Physiology UK Advisory Group

NamePositionEmail
Professor Helen JonesChairH.Jones1@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Gemma Miller Deputy ChairG.D.Miller@ljmu.ac.uk
Prof David Broom FBASESAdvocacy Leadad5173@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Keith George FBASESAdvocacy Groupk.george@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Keith Tolfrey FBASESAdvocacy GroupK.Tolfrey@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Anna CampbellStandards and Accreditation leadanna.campbell@canrehab.co.uk
Dr Andrew ScottCPD Leadandrew.scott@port.ac.uk
Prof Dawn SkeltonCPD Groupdawn.skelton@gcu.ac.uk
Dr Gordon McGregorRegistered RCP CEP Rep 1gordon.mcgregor@uhcw.nhs.uk
Prof John Buckley FBASESRegistered RCP CEP Rep 2j.p.buckley@keele.ac.uk
Anthony CrozierRegistered RCP CEP Rep 3a.j.crozier@2020.ljmu.ac.uk
TBCEnd-user Rep 1TBC
TBCEnd-user Rep 2TBC
Dr Chris AskewCEP (or equivalent) International Rep 1CAskew@usc.edu.au
Prof Daniel GreenCEP (or equivalent) International Rep 2danny.green@uwa.edu.au
TBCAllied health professional representative (Physiotherapy)TBC
Prof Sandy JackClinical Physiologist/healthcare ScientistS.Jack@soton.ac.uk
Lizanne SteenkampMember of the RCCP Executive TeamLizanneSteenkamp@rccp.co.uk